Catwoman #12

I can’t believe I’m saying this but…….read Catwoman

Murder! Betrayal! The Dark Knight! All three play big roles in Catwoman 12, which if you haven’t been reading, there’s no way in hell that I would blame you, but, now I’m here to say that Judd Winick’s Catwoman is actually worth reading.

It even got a lol out of me with this particular page:

One of Catwoman’s allies rigs up the Bat-signal with this interesting take on the traditional symbol, and I found it pretty funny, but there are probably Bat fans out there who would see this as sacrilegious and condemn Catwoman for defacing this sacred artifact. But I’ve got an open mind. I mean, hey, I’m reading Catwoman.

So this issue resolves the Dollhouse story arc, and finally confirms what we were all thinking: Dollhouse and Dollmaker are related in some sick, twisted family! Dollmaker was the villain from Detective Comic’s first story arc, and coincidentally was one of the reasons that I hated the first several issues of Detective! But seriously, Dollhouse was way cooler and a lot better written than Dollmaker. I think that what Winick did right with Dollhouse in Catwoman was that he stood by the principle that less is more when it comes to writing some villains. Tony Daniel wrote Dollmaker with prolonged dialog with Batman, Gordon and his minions, making him look stupid and weak, while Dollhouse was able to pull off the strong, silent type and came off looking like a total B.A.

Another theme behind this issue that I enjoyed was seeing the scenes that Dollhouse chose to use in the dollhouse. Dollhouse abducts useless members of society and rehabilitates them, only to kill them and stuff them and put them into sick play-scenes of her choosing. Yeah, Dollhouse is a girl. Anyway, the first scene we see is a lavish banquet, but after a few walls are broken down, Dollhouse chases Catwoman through the decades, literally. The human dolls are set up in scenes like a 60s disco dance and a Victorian ball.

One last thing that this issue had that I liked was cold blooded murder. Now, I don’t necessarily like murder, but it’s so odd to see real murder within the pages of a Bat-title, and sometimes a shock can be refreshing! I won’t tell you who the victim or the perpetrator but it is certainly a great scene.

–John

