Batman Inc. #3

Batman Inc. still wows, even after being delayed a month

So while reading this issue, I got to see all the adverts from last month and it made me a little nostalgic. But it was unfortunate that I didn’t get to see the cool spread alerting us to the wide array of annuals coming out in late August. It’s beside the point though. Batman Inc. is my favorite DC title and #3 didn’t disappoint. First, this issue had a copious amount of undue hype due to the fact that it was delayed for a month because the staff thought it was a little too graphic to release so close to the Colorado shooting that occurred during the Dark Knight Rises premier.

I say undue because it’s understandable that they wanted to respect the victims of the shooting, but if they hadn’t said anything, I doubt anyone would have noticed. Here are the panels that I believe were responsible. As you can see, there are no shots fired, no theater scene, and more of a hypnosis-related crime rather than a terrorist act.

It depicts a teacher who has been kidnapped and brainwashed by Leviathan and ordered to subvert the minds of the children, but at gunpoint. So it is mildly understandable that an alleged authority figure threatening a classroom full of students is reason enough to pull an issue, but one could argue that this issue was ill-released because a bunch of schools around the country started class back on the very day that this issue was released. Coincidence? I think not. It reminds me of the Cartoon Wars episode of South Park. This book did get published eventually, while in South Park, Cartman was on the quest to get Family Guy cancelled all together by getting a single episode pulled off the air for depicting the image of Muhammad, or just because it sucks in his personal opinion. I thought it was interesting how a pulled issue was the thing about comic books that made headlines for a few weeks back in July. And because it appeared in USA Today, NY Times and other big name papers, this is the only look into the world of comics that the mainstream public sees apart from the yearly Marvel blockbuster.

Anyway, I give this issue a 10/10 and don’t want to discuss the content too much because I want you to figure it out for yourself. But if you want a preview, this issue marks the resurrection of one of Bruce Wayne’s beloved alter egos, Matches Malone. He’s a stud. But you don’t have to take my word for it.

–John

